top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTran

Wedding in Korea/First Week Of School

Updated: Sep 12, 2018

Wedding in Korea

I reached out to a couple of my childhood friends from Vietnam, whom are currently living in Korea, that I will be staying in Korea for a semester as an exchange student. Beyond my expectations of meeting up to hang out or grabbing a coffee, I was invited to a friend's wedding, whom I have not seen for the past eight years, since I left Vietnam to move to the U.S. The wedding was taken place in a grand hotel called Sunshine Hotel in Daejeon (known as South Korea's fifth-largest metropolis) on Sunday September 2nd. I and Ha met up with another childhood friend of mine, then we took KTX train to Daejeon. It was about an hour ride with beautiful nature scenery. I was even lucky enough to be chosen to catch the bride's bouquet.


First Week Of School

Before the first week of school, we had a three days orientation including two days of KU orientation and one day KUBS orientation. There was a lot of information that we had to intake all at once, and personally, I considered myself as an outgoing and extroverted person, yet trying to figure out all the need-to-know places on campus and meeting new people, was a bit overwhelmed. I took a night off for myself from one of the orientation dinner nights. However, I encourage you to attend all of the get-togethers, if can, because it is a great opportunity to get to know everyone from all majors including graduate and undergraduate students. Take the initiative and bring your Aloha spirit.


Like other schools, the first week was all about going over the syllabuses and getting to know your class expectations and the people you will see daily for the rest of the semester. For Korea University Business School, exams will be worth about 65 to 70% of your grade with 20 to 25% of group projects/reports and 10% for attendance/participation. Besides, I enjoy eating lunch in KU cafeteria, with the cost of 5000 won, I am always full and happily satisfied with the food taste.


Now, school has officially started.



bottom of page