top of page
Search

Busiest time of the semester

Updated: Dec 14, 2018

I would like to start with letting you know midterm week was the start of the busiest time for college students in Korea, it all came down to group projects for every class and then gotta prepare for finals right after. Although, I was overwhelmed with all the group meetings, reports and presentations all at once, everything turned out well for my group projects that I had. Therefore, I would like to share what I have done for each of the group projects.


BUSS 367 (FIN 321): A 5-page, single spaced report for an interesting international finance topic and my team picked LIBOR and FOREX scandal. Personally, I was so amazed with all the knowledge I have gained after conducting my research for the report because of how little did I know about international finance. My team report was one out of four best ones, thus, we had to do 45 minutes presentation and led the class discussion regarding about it. *_*


BUSS 313 (MGT 342): A 15-page, double spaced paper for a chosen multinational company and pick one country asides from its home market that the company currently operates in , then find its contemporary problems, do a thorough company analysis and make recommendations on how to fix it. My team chose "Uber in India", to help Uber sustain in the Indian market for the long-run as Uber has been bought out from eight of Southeast Asian countries from Grab and currently trying to double up the investment in India because it is the largest market share that Uber has besides its home country, the U.S. Out of five members in my group, I was designated to be the presenter for this case. The presentation was strictly 10-minute long and a couple of Q&A. ( On the side note, I did a lot better than I have ever expected, because I had my Finance final exam on the morning before having this presentation) *blessed*


BUSS 402 (BUS 367G): A 15-page, double spaced paper on a case study, which my team had picked " How Disney Acquired Pixar?" and led a 60-minutes of engaging presentation and discussion for the class. We had six members in the team and for most of group projects in Korea, my team partnered up in pairs of two people of which, two people were supposed to do the report, another pair did the powerpoint and the last two were only for the presentation (presenting part). However, in our case, we ended up having three presenters. I was, again, in the presenting "team".

BUSS 425 (UDE): Okay, this is probably the best group project I have ever done. I love every single member in this team because they are all so wonderful, not only as team players but also for how diverse our team was, considering we picked each other randomly without being assigned. We had three international students, one from Indonesia, one from Pakistan, one from California (She's Korean and Vietnamese, wow~) and two native Korean students, then there is me, an U.S exchange student with my Vietnamese background.

Anyways, we had to make a detailed network-based business model with the five Ws and How. What is the business about, Who is for "target market", Where is for " the location for its operation" and When is for " the timeline of business implementation" and finally, How will the business work with full analysis. We brainstormed ideas and I came up with the idea for Bab-Ting 밥팅 (combining the words 밥 - Food and 미팅 - Meeting), the goal is to solve the solo eating " mukbang", giving social networking opportunities for millennials who are tech savvy, sociable, and busy bodies (young adults, college students) in the busy culture society, to meet up and eat with new people. The phone app that matches people who have same food preferences in the same location at the same time. As soon as we all agreed on the idea, everyone picked their parts and did it in perfect harmony.


For my final exams, I only have one for the actual final week and my other three final exams were in the two weeks before that, together with all the group projects work. Thus, my past three weeks have been busy yet rewarding.

To end this long post full of school life experience, below is my very first experience with snow and it was definitely one of the best moments in my life. Thank you my beloved Shidler College of Business, MIX program (Vinnie and Kathy) and especially, the Freeman Scholarship Foundation for this wonderful Korea exchange opportunity I have been given, and that, I am enormously grateful.







bottom of page