top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTran

Snow Skiing and Finals Week

Updated: Jan 12, 2019

For the last weeks in Korea, I wanted to do things that I could not be able to do back in Hawaii, and of course, snow-related things were on my list. Trazy.com was a great website for me to search up, I ended up booking a tour with an English tour guide, one-hour skiing lesson, equipment and clothes included for a reasonable price (9/10 recommended). As a person, I am quite bad with sports, any kind (yes, I have tried most of them), and I can't even swim. However, I figured that it would not hurt to try something new. I picked snow skiing over snow boarding was because, I have done skateboard and ice skating before, thus, skiing would be a better option for me. Overall, it was a very fun experience,from the part I tried to walk without falling to where I skied down a slanted hill without having any control of speed or direction while trying to keep my balance and the ultimate option was to fall down in prevention of bumping into people.

Fun fact: I and Ha bought the lift passes thinking we could use the cable car for sightseeing but due to our lack of experience with winter sports, we did not know that cable car was strictly used for transportation, bringing people to the upper part of a slanted hill and we gotta ski all the way down. I enjoyed that thrilling feeling way more than I expected and ended up taking the cable car a couple more times before we had to leave.



I only had one final exam during finals week because I already took three out of four exams two weeks before that ( Yes, that was the reason why I went skiing the weekend before finals week, my last exam was on a Tuesday).


BUSS 313 ( MGT 342): I had my first final exam for this class two weeks before the finals week, as we spent the rest of our time towards group project presentations. The exam had 30 ~ multiple choices and two essays questions. Difficulty level: 2.5/5


BUSS 367 (FIN 321): This exam almost gave me a heart attack as I walked into the class and saw all of my classmates, each had a finance calculator. You could imagine there were thousand of thoughts being created in my head since I did not recall the professor mentioned anything about bringing a calculator, while thinking about what were I supposed to do if I was wrong? Should I ask to be seated in the front and permission to use my phone calculator OR do I not take the test and just walk out ... ANYWAYS, it turned out that my class was THE ONLY ONE out of ALL THE ACCOUNTING AND FINANCE CLASSES that was NOT required a calculator for exams. Difficulty level: 4/5


BUSS 402 ( BUS 367G) : It turned out this class have the same course materials as our business capstone class BUS 345. The final exam had 41 multiple choice questions included 6 chapters and 4 study cases. The materials was mainly concepts and definitions but the exam was more on real life applications. Difficulty level: 3.5/5


BUSS 425 (UDE): Oh...my... the final exam for this class was the most interesting exam I have ever taken in my life ( in a good way). The class was given two cases of two companies which were having problems with its marketing/networking strategy (sent out the night before the exam for us to read and pick which case we want to do. Each of us printed out the case that we picked without knowing what kind of final exam it was. On the exam day, I was given two essay papers and asked to write a 5-min PRESENTATION as the investor of the company, with analyzing the given problems from the case, and give suggestions for the company based on business analysis that we conduct from the reading. YES, I REPEAT, IT WAS A WRITTEN PRESENTATION. I had to draw the presentation slides on the paper and write inside those boxes. Difficulty level: 1.5/5



bottom of page